C*H*A*N*R*O*E*U*N

Food for Thought, Thought for Action!

Happy Birthday Samdach Ta (31 Oct 2008)

2 Comments

King Norodom Sihanouk, the former King of Cambodia

The Very Best Wishes to Our Beloved Majesty the King Father!

“With his every achievement big or small, it is part of King Sihanouk’s endeavor for the sake of Cambodia.”

The following commentary  was written by Penh Panha

I think we should remind ourselves of the good and bad legacy of our King. Sure, his policies led Khmer nation to both high and lows, and some will hate him while some will love him. Whatever it is, we recognize that the King is a very talented communicators, and a very smart politicians (sometimes too smart for his own good).

His good legacies include his achievement of independence from France, and the great advances of the Khmer nation during the Sangkum Reas Niyum era, when Phnom Penh was hailed as the pearl of the south east Asia. His bad legacies however include the rampant corruption during his reign as leader of Cambodia, and the fact that he aligned himself with the Viet Cong and broke his pledge to be neutral during the Vietnam war, which eventually engulf Cambodia in the Vietnamese war against American, in which Cambodia was only a sideshow, much oblivious in the international stage. And of course, the fact he supported Pol Pot was also hidden from the public, although it was undeniable that he was used by Pol Pot to further advances their causes, including the killing of more half the population at that time.

But he was a very talented politician. He had built very long lasting contact with leaders of nation whose power was of mammoth size compared to Cambodia, and whose power change the course of history. Mao Zedong gave the King unconditional support, Kim Jong-il gave the King all diplomatic access he needed during his nadir, and he is respected wherever he went. Those relationships are still strong today, even though the men that King used to liaise with personally has already passed on. No leader has achieved so much in his life like King Father Sihanouk. Let us remember him as a very smart, talented and popular King, albeit one with some serious flaws as well.

Long live King Father, and happy birthday!

Penh Panha

Picture courtesy of Sopheak

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Samdach Ta (31 Oct 2008)

  1. OF CAMBODIA NATION RELIGIONS KING Appeal to humanitarian Subject:Request for humanitarian in local and oversea to support the fund who take care of hemodialise of broken groin for Mr VAR VETHYEAR.If you want to help me.please sent money for me following address direct : Reason :My name Mr VAR VETHYEAR , Male ,37years old,I worked as professor Geography in Antaratévy high school ,Phnom Penh in cambodia , Address :No 60, street 313 ,group38,commune BoengKôk II ,DistrictTuol Kôk, Phnom Penh ,Cambodia.(T?:855/012 997 141/012460254Email # vethyear@yahoo.com).I hopeless in my life because my fammily is very poor and lose every thing to encourage me I can’t continue to take care of my sick . As mention about object and reason I would like to inform all kind persons and humanitarians to support the fund to me that being hemodialise in CHEA SEIM changing blood center in two times a week . I changed one time to spend 50$ .If I change tube and spend 70 to 83$(spend 500 to 600$ per month) . I hope that you pay attention to support me because I’m very hopeless in my life . Please highly respected from me Phnom Penh ,le.03/11/2008

  2. NATION RELIGIONS KING
    Appeal to humanitarian

    Subject:Request for humanitarian in local and oversea to support the fund who take care of hemodialise of broken groin for Mr VAR VETHYEAR.If you want to help me.please sent money for me following address direct :

    Reason :My name Mr VAR VETHYEAR , Male ,37years old,I worked as professor Geography in Antaratévy high school ,Phnom Penh in cambodia , Address :No 60, street 313 ,group38,commune BoengKôk II ,DistrictTuol Kôk, Phnom Penh ,Cambodia.

    (T?:855/012 997 141/012460254Email # vethyear@yahoo.com).I hopeless in my life because my fammily is very poor and lose every thing to encourage me I can’t continue to take care of my sick .

    As mention about object and reason I would like to inform all kind persons and humanitarians to support the fund to me that being hemodialise in CHEA SEIM changing blood center in two times a week . I changed one time to spend 50$ .If I change tube and spend 70 to 83$(spend 500 to 600$ per month) .

    I hope that you pay attention to support me because I’m very hopeless in my life .

    Please highly respected from me

    Phnom Penh ,le.04/03/2009

Leave a Reply

