C*H*A*N*R*O*E*U*N

Food for Thought, Thought for Action!

How to Write an Abstract

43 Comments

by

Phil Koopman, Carnegie Mellon University

Abstract

Because on-line search databases typically contain only abstracts, it is vital to write a complete but concise description of your work to entice potential readers into obtaining a copy of the full paper. This article describes how to write a good computer architecture abstract for both conference and journal papers. Writers should follow a checklist consisting of: motivation, problem statement, approach, results, and conclusions. Following this checklist should increase the chance of people taking the time to obtain and read your complete paper.

Introduction

Now that the use of on-line publication databases is prevalent, writing a really good abstract has become even more important than it was a decade ago. Abstracts have always served the function of “selling” your work. But now, instead of merely convincing the reader to keep reading the rest of the attached paper, an abstract must convince the reader to leave the comfort of an office and go hunt down a copy of the article from a library (or worse, obtain one after a long wait through inter-library loan). In a business context, an “executive summary” is often the only piece of a report read by the people who matter; and it should be similar in content if not tone to a journal paper abstract.

Checklist: Parts of an Abstract

Despite the fact that an abstract is quite brief, it must do almost as much work as the multi-page paper that follows it. In a computer architecture paper, this means that it should in most cases include the following sections. Each section is typically a single sentence, although there is room for creativity. In particular, the parts may be merged or spread among a set of sentences. Use the following as a checklist for your next abstract:

  • Motivation:
    Why do we care about the problem and the results? If the problem isn’t obviously “interesting” it might be better to put motivation first; but if your work is incremental progress on a problem that is widely recognized as important, then it is probably better to put the problem statement first to indicate which piece of the larger problem you are breaking off to work on. This section should include the importance of your work, the difficulty of the area, and the impact it might have if successful.
  • Problem statement:
    What problem are you trying to solve? What is the scope of your work (a generalized approach, or for a specific situation)? Be careful not to use too much jargon. In some cases it is appropriate to put the problem statement before the motivation, but usually this only works if most readers already understand why the problem is important.
  • Approach:
    How did you go about solving or making progress on the problem? Did you use simulation, analytic models, prototype construction, or analysis of field data for an actual product? What was the extent of your work (did you look at one application program or a hundred programs in twenty different programming languages?) What important variables did you control, ignore, or measure?
  • Results:
    What’s the answer? Specifically, most good computer architecture papers conclude that something is so many percent faster, cheaper, smaller, or otherwise better than something else. Put the result there, in numbers. Avoid vague, hand-waving results such as “very”, “small”, or “significant.” If you must be vague, you are only given license to do so when you can talk about orders-of-magnitude improvement. There is a tension here in that you should not provide numbers that can be easily misinterpreted, but on the other hand you don’t have room for all the caveats.
  • Conclusions:
    What are the implications of your answer? Is it going to change the world (unlikely), be a significant “win”, be a nice hack, or simply serve as a road sign indicating that this path is a waste of time (all of the previous results are useful). Are your results general, potentially generalizable, or specific to a particular case?

Other Considerations

An abstract must be a fully self-contained, capsule description of the paper. It can’t assume (or attempt to provoke) the reader into flipping through looking for an explanation of what is meant by some vague statement. It must make sense all by itself. Some points to consider include:

  • Meet the word count limitation. If your abstract runs too long, either it will be rejected or someone will take a chainsaw to it to get it down to size. Your purposes will be better served by doing the difficult task of cutting yourself, rather than leaving it to someone else who might be more interested in meeting size restrictions than in representing your efforts in the best possible manner. An abstract word limit of 150 to 200 words is common.
  • Any major restrictions or limitations on the results should be stated, if only by using “weasel-words” such as “might”, “could”, “may”, and “seem”.
  • Think of a half-dozen search phrases and keywords that people looking for your work might use. Be sure that those exact phrases appear in your abstract, so that they will turn up at the top of a search result listing.
  • Usually the context of a paper is set by the publication it appears in (for example, IEEE Computer magazine’s articles are generally about computer technology). But, if your paper appears in a somewhat un-traditional venue, be sure to include in the problem statement the domain or topic area that it is really applicable to.
  • Some publications request “keywords”. These have two purposes. They are used to facilitate keyword index searches, which are greatly reduced in importance now that on-line abstract text searching is commonly used. However, they are also used to assign papers to review committees or editors, which can be extremely important to your fate. So make sure that the keywords you pick make assigning your paper to a review category obvious (for example, if there is a list of conference topics, use your chosen topic area as one of the keyword tuples).

Conclusion

Writing an efficient abstract is hard work, but will repay you with increased impact on the world by enticing people to read your publications. Make sure that all the components of a good abstract are included in the next one you write.

Further Reading

Michaelson, Herbert, How to Write & Publish Engineering Papers and Reports, Oryx Press, 1990. Chapter 6 discusses abstracts.

43 thoughts on “How to Write an Abstract

  1. I totally agree with what you are saying eventhough this guide is not suit to new WPπŸ™‚

  2. Too often new employees are given manuals to read and be read” between the lines and know that when you say the words you fear, nothing awful happens. Unable to call in or listen at the time. It is indeed a resolute kind of love popular diets that your creator has towards you man. What To Do About It?

  3. a Bruce Lee workout includes stretching, bending, running, dipping, kicking, jumping,
    traditional muscle building exercises, weight lifting,
    rope skipping, medicine ball handling, etc.
    Avocados- Although not my favorite, are high in fats, the
    good ones. That way, the actual process will end up being
    much less frustrating and, for the majority of people, enjoyable.

  4. My brother suggested I may like this website. He used to be totally right.
    This submit actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how so
    much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  5. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before ending I am reading this fantastic post to improve my know-how.

  6. With havin so much content and articles do you ever
    run into any problems of plagorism or copyright
    violation? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any ways to help stop content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate
    it.

  7. Can I simply say what a relief to find somebody who actually is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know how to convey an issue to light and make it important. Extra people need to learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant believe youre no more widespread since you definitely have the gift.

  8. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website nowπŸ˜‰

  9. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

  10. global health initiative and marrying people in prison is about as risky as
    it gets. Matchmaking is based on carbon compounds!
    The most difficult to establish, is a way to
    learn healthy communication skills with a partner reinforces the positive feelings and sense of attractiveness.

  11. The next time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I do know it was my option to learn, however I actually thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you could repair if you werent too busy in search of attention.

  12. As the admin of this web site is working, no question very
    quickly it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

  13. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog such as yours require a lot
    of work? I am completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  14. Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I wish to put in writing like this moreover οΏ½ taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article however what can I say I procrastinate alot and in no way appear to get one thing done.

  15. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to go back the
    desire?.I am trying to in finding issues to enhance my site!
    I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!
    !

  16. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this information to him.
    Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  17. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to see more posts like this .

  18. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to
    mention that I’ve truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  19. you might have a terrific blog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

  20. I found your weblog site on google and test just a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the very good operate. I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for ahead to studying extra from you later on!

  21. Thanks , I have just been searching for information approximately this subject for a while and
    yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

  22. Hello, constantly i used to check blog posts here in the early hours
    in the daylight, for the reason that i enjoy to gain knowledge
    of more and more.

  23. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to search out anyone with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that’s wanted on the net, somebody with a bit originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  24. Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  25. Hello, of course this article is in fact good and I have learned lot of things
    from it about blogging. thanks.

  26. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in
    your content seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The design look great though!

    Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Thanks

  27. You could definitely see your expertise in the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such
    as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  28. Excellent website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Cheers!

  29. I do not even know how I ended up here, but
    I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going
    to a famous blogger if you aren’t alreadyπŸ˜‰ Cheers!

  30. Useful info. Fortunate me I found your website by chance,
    and I am surprised why this coincidence didn’t came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  31. Excellent items from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff prior to and you’re simply
    too excellent. I really like what you’ve received here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which through which you say
    it. You’re making it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

  32. What i don’t understood is actually how you’re not actually much more neatly-favored
    than you might be right now. You are very intelligent. You
    already know therefore significantly in the case of this
    subject, produced me for my part consider it from a lot of numerous angles.
    Its like men and women are not fascinated until it’s one thing to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always care for it up!

  33. If you are going for most excellent contents like I
    do, simply visit this website every day for the reason that it presents feature
    contents, thanks

  34. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while
    you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog
    web site? The account aided me a appropriate deal.
    I have been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided brilliant
    clear concept

  35. Hi, yeah this post is really pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it concerning
    blogging. thanks.

  36. Hi there to every one, it’s really a pleasant for me
    to visit this website, it includes valuable Information.

  37. It’s truly very difficult in this active life to listen news on
    Television, therefore I only use world wide web for that purpose, and obtain
    the most recent news.

  38. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am
    having issues with your RSS. I don’t know the reason whhy Ican’t join it.
    Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows thhe solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  39. you’re truly a good webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick.

    Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you have done a
    fantastic activity on this subject!

  40. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon everyday. It’s always helpful to
    read articles from other authors and use something from other
    web sites.

  41. Einen KochlΓΆffel und ein Topf zum klopfen oder eine Schublade voller SchΓΌsselchen,
    eine alte Socke gefΓΌllt mit GlΓΆcken oder ReiskΓΆrnen und diese natΓΌrlich gut
    vernΓ€ht zum Spielen anbieten.

  42. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you
    actually understand what you’re speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We may have a hyperlink exchange contract among us

Leave a Reply

